Mohamed Salah and Fran Kirby named PFA players of the year

By: News - Sky ExpressPublished: 6 months ago


0 Likes   0 Dislikes

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah has been named as the Professional Footballers’ Association player of the year for the 2017-18 season. The Egypt international saw off competition from the Manchester City trio of Kevin De Bruyne, Leroy Sané and David Silva to become the second African player to win the award after Riyad Mahrez of Leicester in 2016. Tottenham’s Harry Kane came third, with De Bruyne second. Salah, who moved to Anfield from Roma last June for a club record fee of £36.9m, has scored 40 goals in his debut season as Jürgen Klopp’s side have reached the semi-finals of the Champions League. Salah was presented with the award at the Grosvenor Hotel in London on Sunday evening, with City’s winger Sané voted as young player of the year. Facebook Twitter Pinterest Chelsea’s Fran Kirby was named women’s player of the year. Photograph: Barrington Coombs/PA “It’s an honour to win this award especially because it was voted for by the other players,” said Salah. “I would like to thank my team-mates and everyone at the club for helping me to make this happen.” Asked what it meant to become t...

Thanks for waching !

Related Videos